New term

Had not done as much of an abstract as I thought. I had sent some writing ideas to Andy to see which were current, valid, stimulating etc… that is all. I can continue reading till the abstract is almost due, so the choice / shape of my question will be more informed.

Reading Hamlet on the Holodeck, and started writing notes. Went over the ideas I sent to Andy earlier to see which seem viable: about 3 out of 8. I can get feedback and decide, then construct the abstract by February. With my reading / theory going ok, it is my practice I want to push ahead with via Dragon video tutorials and sessions with finalised models.

Hamlet on the Holodeck: the therapeutic benefit of novel reading is multiplied, as we are given storylines, characters and examples.

Another light-bulb moment, I believe I have a shape for my research thesis question. I had hoped to use either something about narrative or something about editing: now I have a question about how one will influence the other in the future. I will write the abstract shortly, and sketch headings for the main body.

Finished the book, and added final quotations to my bibliography. Some of these can already fit the draft headings, so parts of the thesis will be straightforward to flesh out. If it is accepted in its current format, I will be able to pay attention to my practice!

Started Mythologies. My thesis is taking shape.

Wednesday 13 Jan
Useful catch-up chat with Andy about the progress. It has been hectic for staff and FT, and the adverse weather adds pressure to their schedule. Peer learning can lapse, but there is plenty to read and do on the project. I have not managed to go to the 3D area, but will shortly try to catch up those visits to ask advice from technicians.

The PT catch-up was enabled me to work with confidence. Attended the CCW BoS meeting which was interesting, and went to the lecture by David Cross on the Shift Festival. Slumdog Millionaire: the methods of editing, photography, use of colour and music were of interest, partly because of my thesis and practice.

I am behind with my practice, although I watched a good video on stop-motion basics. I have been busy on the thesis unable to progress on the practice. Hopefully I can make headway this week. I will watch another video tutorial on Dragon and make contact with the stop-motion and 3D technicians. The technician booked a laser session for me which I think clashes with the FT MPR. I will find out tomorrow.

Leave a comment